Upcoming Exhibitions + Events

Scroll for more events…


Ben Frank Moss: An Imaginative Life
Members Gallery: February 7–March 6, 2020

AVA is honored to feature the artwork of Ben Frank Moss, late artist and Dartmouth studio art professor, curated by John Stomberg, the Virginia Rice Kelsey 1961s Director, Hood Museum of Art at Dartmouth College. Moss’s artwork was inspired by the way light, space, and temperature transformed the landscapes of the places he lived, working from memory to create paintings and drawings that convey “a distilled sensation of time.”

Artworks are available for purchase.

Members Gallery exhibitions are generously sponsored by


Lobby Artists of the Month
Friday, February 7–March 6

AVA Free Community Programs
CAOS, ART STOP!, Art Lab, Senior Art, Art Detectives

An eclectic display of works created by participants in the free AVA programs that are available throughout the year to aspiring artists of all ages and abilities. 

 


AVA’s 12th Annual High School Exhibition
February 14–March 13, 2020

Opening Reception and Award Ceremony
Friday, February 14, 5–7 pm

Eighteen Upper Valley High Schools participate in this annual celebration of the creative achievements of our regional youth! Nominated student artwork will be exhibited from all schools and awards will be given in several categories by juror Grace Harde, Founding Trustee of the Adrian Duckworth Museum.

Made possible through the generous support of:






 


Lobby Artist of the Month: Tuesday, March 10 – April 10

Cornelia Rahmelow – Lebanon Historical Photographs


Members Gallery: Friday, March 13 – April 10
Carla Kimball – Photographs


AVA’s Annual Silent Auction: Saturday, March 28 – Saturday, April 4


Members Gallery: Friday, April 17 – May 15
Shadowing Alfred: An AVA Dog Show


Solo Exhibitions: Friday, April 24 – May 22

Rebecca Lawrence + Clifford B. West Galleries: Stefania Urist
E.N. Wennberg Gallery: Corky Wennberg
Elizabeth Rowland Mayor Gallery: Susan Osgood

High School Winners Exhibition: Friday, May 22 – June 19

Award winners from the February High School Exhibition display their artwork in a group show in the Members Gallery.


Group Exhibition: Friday, May 29 – July 3
8 x 1 Critique Group

Kate Cone, Charles Dupuy, David Fisk, Joe Saginor, Jim Jordan, Rachel Jordan, Anne Cogbill Rose, Jonathan Rose


Summer Juried Exhibition Winners: Friday, July 17 – August 21

Reginald Vessey, 911 on Vesey Street
Jon Gilbert Fox, A Different Kind Of Game, Cornelia M. Rahmelow Photography Prize
Barbara Bartlett, Eulogy for a Eucalypt
Elizabeth D’Amico, Ring of Fire

Solo Exhibitions: Friday, September 4 – October 2

Bunny Harvery, Night Pond Voices, 2017
Laurie Sverdlove, Zwartkop, 2016
Torin Porter, Sewn Shirt
Jay Singh

Biannual 10 x 10 Art Sale: Saturday, September 26 – October 10

AVA Gallery and Art Center’s 10 x 10 Art Sale

Solo Exhibitions: Friday, October 16 – November 13

Sage Lewis


Helen Schmidt


Margaret Jacobs


Members Gallery: Friday, October 23 – November 20

 
Charles Platt, Collages

Holiday Exhibition & Sale: Friday, November 27 – December 30