The historical display area features part of an exterior wall of an old warehouse that came to light during AVA’s 2006-2007 renovation of the former H.W. Carter & Sons overall factory. The warehouse was built in 1859 by H.W. Carter when he was a young traveling salesman, then known as “The Merchant Prince of New England.” From 1870 on, after Carter had decided to become a manufacturer of work clothes, he built addition after addition around this warehouse as the factory expanded.
After more than a hundred years of manufacturing, the H.W. Carter & Sons overall factory closed its doors in 1985. In 1990, AVA became a tenant at 11 Bank Street, then acquired the building in 2003. During the ensuing renovation, part of the old warehouse, with its original slate roof supported by Victorian brackets, was revealed. Segments of the slate roof have also been incorporated into the east walls of the adjacent renovated bathrooms on the first floor – unsuspecting visitors all delight in the fact that these modern “green” restrooms, with dual-flush toilets, also feature the “archeological remains” of a nineteenth-century structure. This historical display area, which is augmented with vintage clothing, tools and mementos showcasing a vital manufacturing past, offers visitors a fascinating insight into the building’s importance in the history of Lebanon and the Upper Valley.
At the reception and unveiling on Saturday, April 28, remarks will be given by Stephanie Jackson, granddaughter of H.B. Jackson, who was co-owner of the H.W. Carter & Sons from 1902 to 1928, and sole owner until 1965, when his two sons, Frank and Stanley took over the ownership. Members of Lebanon Historical Society and trustees from the Lane and Elizabeth C. Dwinell Charitable Trust will also be present.